A Valentine’s Day Cocktail Story

If you ask me, there is no better way to celebrate Valentine’s Day then by staying in and mixing up a great cocktail for your love.  Whether your status is single, married, dating or “it’s complicated” showing off your mixologist skills can help you score some major points!  So forget the fancy pre-fixed dinners and become the ultimate Valentine’s host.

Here are some suggestions to get you started:

Andrew

Status: It’s Complicated

Cocktail:  Hot ‘n Bothered

and

Tonight I am having a girl over that I have been seeing for a few weeks.  Since Valentine’s Day seems really awkward at this moment and I don’t want to give her the wrong idea that we are in love after three dates, I decided to invite her over for dinner and drinks.

Recipe:

Coat the bottom of an Irish coffee glass with honey.

Add 1.5 oz of Tullamore D.E.W Irish Whiskey and ¼ lemon juice to the mug

On the side heat water in a tea kettle and add the tea bag to make hot tea

Pour the steaming tea into the glass and stir

Sheryl

Status: Married

Cocktail: Bad Medicine

marr

Tonight my husband will be cooking us surf and turf (steak and lobster tail). I’ll be making him his favorite cocktail-a penicillin.

Here’s my recipe:

I shake up the following:

Monkey Shoulder

Honey syrup

Freshly squeezed lemon juice

Fresh ginger

I pour it over a giant ice cube and then finish with a float of Lagavulin 16 year old.

Yummy!

RJ

Status: Single

Cocktail: Whiskey (I’m not) Sour

bitI’m traveling to Vermont tonight to share a three bedroom house with thirty other single New Yorkers.  I’ll skip the dinner and head straight for the whiskey sours!

In a shaker pour:

1.5 oz Hudson Baby Bourbon

1.5 oz Fresh Lemon Juice

¾ oz simple syrup

Shake well and strain into a chilled glass.  Top it off with a maraschino cherry.

I’m not bitter about being single or anything…

What will you be mixing up tonight?

Leave a Reply

