Solerno Does Manhattan!

As I walked down Fifth Avenue this morning, I began shedding layers.  First, my Italian cashmere scarf  got crumpled into a ball and thrown into my red leather satchel.  Next, my coat slipped off and ended up draped over my arm.  Finally, my freshly blown out hair ended up twisted in a knot and pinned onto the top of my head.  Ladies (and gentlemen), I believe what this all means is that we have officially kissed the winter months goodbye!

A feeling of excitement has begun to run through my body.  I feel the warmth of the sun drape like a blanket on my newly exposed shoulders and I close my eyes and inhale the scent of Spring, that mixture of morning dew and infant blossoms peaking out of the ground.  I hear the faint sound of birds chirping in between groans of street cleaning trucks.  I open my eyes to this new light that has sprinkled over the city.

All of this spring behavior is really making me crave Sanguinello oranges!  While I enjoyed my months of single malts warming my soul by the fire, my appetite is presently craving a little citrus in my whiskey.  With today being the Vernal Equinox it is the perfect time to kick up our recipes with a little Solerno Blood Orange Liqueur.

Solerno Blood Orange Liqueur brings together modern day spices of life with an appreciation for classic luxuries. Inspired by the classic Manhattan cocktail, Solerno adds a taste of whole-fruit blood orange and a hint of bright lemon to an all-time classic.  To celebrate the beginning of Spring I am ready, shaker in hand, to run home and whip up a batch of Solerno Sicilian Manhattans!

Solerno Sicilian Manhattan

2 oz. Hudson Manhattan Rye

.5 oz. Solerno Blood Orange Liqueur

.5 oz. Averna Amaro

 Stir ingredients with ice and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish with an orange twist.  

 

Cheers to an early Spring!

Leave a Reply

